Government Law addresses the rules of interaction within a government on both the federal and state level. In the United States, there are two types of government law: federal government law, which is associated with Congress, the President, and the U.S. Supreme Court; and state government law, which is associated with the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of state government.

The United States government consists of three branches. The legislative is responsible for making the law, the judicial system is responsible for interpreting the law, and the executive branch is responsible for the administration of law.

In the United States, there is a Federal Government and State governments. Federalism is the theory that the states and their various government branches should have as much power as possible, while the national government should have only limited powers.

Local government law encompasses many aspects of legal issues and topics related to local governments, such as zoning and planning law, employment law, and real estate law.

The law of Tribal Administration involves everything about Native Americans, Indian nations, tribes, and bands. Tribal law deals with the individual tribal governments, rules, and laws, as well as their interactions with the U.S. Federal government and state governments.