Separation Law falls under family law and overlaps with divorce law. It deals with the procedures, rules, and regulations the parties to a marriage must follow when they decide to live apart but do not wish to get a divorce (or dissolution) of the union at that time.

In states that recognize legal separation, the parties to a marriage are separated but remain married. These states allow the parties to legally enter into agreements that address issues such as property division, assignment of finances and debts, alimony or spousal support, child custody, and child support.

Legal separation is a formal, legal agreement signed by both spouses, declaring their status as separated while still married. This agreement addresses all aspects of a couple's finances, including division of property and debt, spousal support and child support, and child custody and visitation arrangements. A legal separation is not a dissolution of marriage and does not end a marriage.

Only nine states:Iowa, Delaware, Mississippi, Idaho, Pennsylvania, Texas, Georgia, Louisiana, and Floridado not recognize legal separations. If you want to separate from your spouse, you will have to go through a divorce process.